How to write a good essay?

kognisjon

Adding onto what others have said:

-- Read. Read and mimic what interests you. Avoid those easy-read works and jump right into good writers of any period. Even long-form articles work.

-- Blog. It doesn't have to be public but just find a place (Wordpress is fine). Better if you don't feel you need to cater to an audience and not be so visual-centric. Pick any topic, hold yourself accountable to a standard, and repeat. 

-- Know the rules. Then you can interpret and break them. A hyphen or colon over a pedestrian comma splice elevates any writing sample.

-- Writing is communication. It's highly important to know what and who you are before vesting time and effort into words that you then are responsible for. Ethos, pathos and logos for yourself and your audience.

• Like 4

I also had this problem when I started Uni (I hated writing more than anything since I'm a math major) but now that I'm in my third year I have come to like it a lot more. I agree with the posters above that it is a good idea to read examples of good essays. However, I know that in courses you can't always write about whatever you like because there are some guidelines for most of the assignments (if the courses you're taking are like the ones I did). One big thing is make sure to format everything correctly. Especially in first-year classes, the professors are really harsh on things like formatting the heading right, putting all of your references in using the right style, numbering your pages, good grammar and spelling even more than the actual quality of the writing in some cases. Not saying that quality doesn't matter at all (bc it still does) but you can lose a lot of points just on these silly things which is really frustrating. In terms of the writing itself, get it proofread by someone you know who is good at writing, and put it through Grammarly to make sure there are no silly spelling mistakes. I like to think of writing like music, and I try to