Self-taught Dancers - Tips?

Guest webmagine

Guest webmagine

I'm a week into this whole thing. Just wondering if anyone has any tips for someone who wants to learn without a dance class?

I'd like to go to a dance class, but I just can't be bothered.. and yeah, I guess I'd be a natural dancer?

So yeah. :) Do you guys have any tips for self-taught dancers?

So far.. I've been watching alot of music videos on YouTube and seen a few choreographies on songs I like aswell.

Guest watermelon586

I'd say to just look on youtube...they have all kinds of stuff on there. Ya, i like to be able to say that i've never taken a hip-hop class b4. (although i take ballet and lyrical) An actual class is great (i wish i could actually take a hip hop class, but no....my mom's kinda wierd), but youtube is probably the best resource I can think of.

do u want to learn how to freestyle or do u wanna learn cheorography?

basic (lol those that i learnt) are things like beats and countings. if you're talking about freestyle.

watch alot of dance to get moves. then you shld be able to fit them into whatever music you'll be playing lol.

sometimes i got on youtube to learn like actual dance moves from singers. to start out. take thsoe with them actually teaching you.

when you get better. u can do those that just show u their dance practice only, bad point is that u have to mirror them cause you have to learn the the same side as them. unless you dont mind learning the opposites.

yep. youtube's your best friend when you want to learn how to dance at home

First of all, stretch almost every part of your body for about 2 minutes each day ^^;; so you can be more flexible because the more flexible you are, the more you can move.

Guest benjaminlibl

OK. You're being really general about the whole dance thing but that's OK.

What I suggest is you watch more youtube videos. There might be tutorials of what you wanna learn on it too.