How did you start learning how to cook?

Girl41831

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest B L o T T - ii

i learnt to cook because my parents often call me to the kitchen to help them out. It was progressive, so i can't remember a distinct age, but maybe 15/16 ish?

oh wait, i can't say i've already "learnt to cook" because my cooking sucks... but i guess i can survive on my food... (sorta)

Guest sylphid97

My mom never allowed me in the kitchen for some reason. She always said I was in the way. <_< I think it cause she didn't want me to learn independence.

Anyways, I started learning in college. I used to attend dinners once a week with Christians. I'm not religious, but the food was yummy. :P I especially liked something called Corn Casserole, so I eventually asked for the recipe. I couldn't believe how easy it was. Buy the ingredients (about 5), mix it all together, and bake. :w00t: This was my first successful dish.

Ever since then, more so in the past 3 years, I've been watching a chef from foodwishes.com and cooking what he cooks. My collection of cookware is pretty much complete. All I need now are some steamers so I can try dim sum one day. :D

Guest mollfie

My mum always got me to help her in the kitchen, then as a teenager I would cook a meal once a week (nothing fancy but it gave my mum a break) and then I left home and so I had to cook for myself. My mum finds it funny how I can cook far more complicated things than her without any problems, I can just get a recipie I've never done before and produce it. I find it fun. I think it's also partly because I'm vegan so I'm used to having to alter things and make it up a bit so that I can eat it n__n

I love cooking for people, if I love you then I'll try to feed you lol.