Jump to content


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


'N Sync, Backstreet Boys Will Reunite, Celebrate Saturday Night Live's 40th Anniversary Special

Recommended Posts

Taking Us back to the '90s! It's been revealed that 'N Sync and — wait for it — the Backstreet Boys(!) will reunite for Saturday Night Live's 40th Anniversary Special on Sunday, Feb. 15.

'N Sync sneakily announced the news on Saturday. "'Together again...Gee, it's good to be together again' #SNL40," their official Twitter account read.

The former group — Justin Timberlake, JC Chasez, Lance Bass, Joey Fatone, and Chris Kirkpatrick — have remained close since splitting in 2002. They reunited on stage for Timberlake's MTV VMA's Vanguard performance in August 2013, and attended Kirkpatrick's wedding that November. Timberlake, unfortunately, was unable to make Bass' nuptials in December 2014.

BSB, meanwhile, has never officially said "Bye, Bye, Bye" to its fans. (Entertainment Weekly reported that the guys will be present for the SNL special.) Together since 1993, Brian Littrell, A.J. McLean, Howie Dorough, Nick Carter, and Kevin Richardson released their eighth studio album, In a World Like This, in 2013. Richardson left the band in 2006, but returned in 2012. In 2011, they went on tour with another boy band — New Kids on the Block.

'N Sync, Backstreet Boys Will Reunite, Celebrate Saturday Night Live's 40th Anniversary Special

It's yet to be revealed in what way the bands will be participating, but Timberlake will definitely be there live. The now solo artist and Jessica Biel's hubby posted about a brainstorming meeting he had with Jimmy Fallon on Tuesday, Feb. 10.
"Writing session for #SNL40," he captioned an Instagram photo. "@jimmyfallon is onto something funny...We think."
Other stars expected to attend Sunday night's big show include Taylor Swift, Kanye West, Paul McCartney, Paul Rudd, James Franco, Derek Jeter, Betty White, Kerry Washington, Melissa MCarthy, and many more.
As for former SNL cast members? Viewers can expect to see Molly Shannon, Mike Myers, Amy Poehler, Adam Sandler, Chevy Chase, Seth Meyers, Kristen Wiig, Eddie Murphy, Tina Fey, Will Ferrell, Maya Rudolph, and Andy Samberg.
Saturday Night Live's 40th Anniversary Special airs from 8 to 11 p.m. EST on NBC.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Create New...