Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Foundation for oily, acne skin

20 posts in this topic

Posted

I have some acne, red and not much. My skin is oily and I have a few acne scars as well. I'm trying to find a good foundation that would cover all these blemishes. Anyone know of any good foundation that would prevent breakouts? And should I use liquid or power foundation? I'm a total newb with make-up. 

P.S. I saw the recommendation thread but it hasn't been updated since the 30th of April so I thought of starting a new thread. 

Posted

If you break out easily or your skin is acne prone and/or sensitive, I recommend to stay away from foundations with a strong fragrance to it, as the chances are you will be likely to break out even more.

A foundation is really someone's preference, just like skincare, it will work differently for every person. Just because it works for someone doesn't necessarily mean it will work for you. So just keep that in mind.

Also it depends on what 'finish' you want in your foundation, most oily skin people I know tend to lean towards more of the 'matte' finishes in foundations, but for myself with oily skin as well, I like to have more of a satin or dewy finish though I have oil problems as well, but I find it to look more natural than as with a matte foundation. But everyone is different.

For 'Matte' Finishes I recommend:

-Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions Foundation

-Revlon Colorstay Foundation for combination/oily skin

-Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation

-No7 Intelligent Balance Mousse Foundation

For 'Dewy' Finishes I recommend:

-Revlon Photoready Foundation

-L'oreal True Match Foundation

-Clinique Even Better Foundation

-Dior Diorskin Nude Foundation

-Laura Mercier Mineral Powder Foundation

The above are all medium-full coverage foundations which I find does not break out my skin. On another note, from my own experience, I would stay away from Maybelline foundations, because they tend to not work well for oily skin types.