Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

IS it better to do something you like or something that benefits you in the future?

12 posts in this topic

Posted

Need Help?
I've been playing Viola for 3 years now. The only reason I started playing was to get into this Youth Symphony for college(they gives out scholarships). I have to go to practice every Saturday for 2hrs (plus an hr of ride up and down). I don't want to burden my dad with all the car rides. Also, my elective class for my school is all dedicated to Orchestra. Recently, I've been thinking, if I should quit to do something I like rather than for the sake of my future. I'm not even that good in Viola too. Also I still have 3 more years till college. What should I do?

Posted

Just think of this a little harder. Would you rather do something you hate for years and years, or had fun with what you do and enjoy it? Would you rather be happy or rich?

Posted

Well, that's hard. But If I were you, I would do something that I will enjoy. I mean, 3 years till collage! That's a lot of time for you to think about your future. There are still chances for you to take that will benefit you in the future. You'll never know if there's something out there that will benefit you and something that you will enjoy at the same time :) But that's just my opinion :D

Posted

I like to do things I enjoy. Though sadly, I tend to overindulge way too much for my own good.

Posted

why can't what you enjoy benefit you in the future too?

I was in roughly the same position as you freshman year in high school (and you sound like you're roughly that age too)