Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Tea Tree Oil...?

27 posts in this topic

Posted

darn you acne...
I started to break out this year ( i'm a sophomore). It was only a few pimples, so I didn't mind and put some pimple gel and left it alone. Before I knew it, those tiny dots...became a farm of them. My forehead is totally red, and filled with zits, and my cheeks are taking up the same effect now. I got super oily too which is annoying now because I'm not used to it. My skin was totally fine before this so I'm guessing I broke out due to hormones..? Yeah i'm no doctor. ;_;

ANYWAYS, my friends said to use Tea Tree oil on it, and I did some research and people have said it works, but I'm still a bit hesitant. Have you guys tried it? and if you have, how did you use it? I looked it up but I'm still confused...also any advise? Is it normal for normal skin to become oily and acne prone within a few months..? And any tips?

Posted

I've tried it before - for me, it's about as effective as benzoyl peroxide. They're okay for smaller acne, but I haven't had luck with either on tackling cystic acne - for those, I use sulfur-based treatments. Anyway, when I used TTO, I added a couple of drops to my toner and I also used a cotton swab to directly dab it onto problem spots.

Tea tree oil is very strong. You can buy treatments (I know the Body Shop has one) that are diluted, or you can buy it pure and dilute it yourself. I would not recommend putting undiluted tea tree oil on your skin to start off with - I did end up dabbing it on my skin directly, but my skin is not sensitive at all. There's a good thread here on diluting tea tree oil.

Different people's skin respond to different treatments. Tea tree oil isn't expensive (especially if you go with the dilute-your-own route), so I think it's worth a try.

Posted

Oh thankyou. I got bottle for myself, I'll try it out before I sleep later~

Posted