Film Photography

Guest strawberry.llamas

I've been a lurker of this thread for like the past week lol.

I'm excited to say that I'm buying a Canon AE-1 tomorrow from someone off of Craigslist so I can't wait to start taking pictures.

I'm a total noob with photography even though I took it in high school.

I understand general things like the aperture and shutter speed (kind of~~).

I'm just wondering what the differences in film are if anyone can explain them to me?

And if you have any tips or anything I'd love to hear them.

I'm completely new to this and would appreciate any help/insight :]

• Replies 221
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm just wondering what the differences in film are if anyone can explain them to me?

I have to say that I don't know a lot about film either but here is some information.

Films have different ISOs and the higher the ISO, the less light you need for the same exposure (so you can take photos in a darker place without having the shutter speed really slow and whatnot), but the photos are more grainy (like how a digital camera can have lots of noise at higher ISO). ISO 100 and 200 is good for when you shoot outdoors, ISO 400 is more for all-around purposes (indoors and outdoors), and ISO 800 and 1600 are usually for indoors or really dark environments.

I think the best thing to do is just use a lot of different film and see which you like. After you shoot the same film for a while and then switch to a new one, you'll notice differences between the film (i.e. Kodak Ektar is very colorful). I personally recommend Fujifilm Superia or Kodak Ektar for starting out -- they're cheap but still great.