How do i increase the weight i lift?

Guest kiki_725

Guest kiki_725

Recently i've been working at builing my arm muscles and i've been lifting 2kg free weights. I now feel that these are too light but the next weight up (3kg) is too heavy (I tried it today and i could hardly do half what i normal do routine wise)

There isn't an in-between weight and i was wondering what i should do. Do i continue with the 3kg as i will get stronger and it will get easier or do i do half with the 3kg and half with the 2kg weight?

Guest kiki_725

@Lie - Awesome. If you couldn't guess I am fairly new to weight lifting so i'm still a little unsure about some stuff but your advice was really clear and helpful.Thank you :)

• 2 weeks later...
Guest tokyojr

I've gone from 10lbs to 25lbs dumbbells in a week! Repetition is key. Lift often, whether it's everyday or every few days. When you lift, lift one arm first, then when you go down, go down slow. You'll notice it's harder to go down slow because your muscles are fighting gravity! Then do the next arm.Remember to use proper technique. Keep your arms straight and lift only the section of the arm after the elbow. Don't dig your elbows into the side of your body or that's cheating! :D. Do enough reps until you can't do anymore. And I mean CAN'T. Like when you try to lift but your arm is just failing because it's so stressed. Take a little break until you can lift again (1-10 minutes) then lift as much as you can again. If you literally can't, do it again THE NEXT DAY. (Btw your arms WILL be sore) That's what I did when I lifted 10lbs, and I could only do like 8 or 9 reps per arm. The next day, I could do 15 reps per arm. Then I moved on to 15lbs the day after that, and could only do 6 reps. If 8 reps is your max, that's how many lbs you can lift. So right now, I can lift 25lbs 8 times per arm and that's my max. 25lbs is what I can lift.Consistency and persistence is key.