Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Soompi Ulzzang Contest Round 2 results are out! See who made it to the final round!

How do you not use financial baromaters to compare yourself to friends?

blnycblnyc Posts: 192Member

IDOL

edited February 2013 in the real world (20+ ONLY)
It's kinda a hard fact to swallow when you hear many of your friends make more money than you do. We all went to the same college, but of course we studied different things. Obviously, I knew from day 1 that some people were going to make more than me, but thinking about it versus actually having it happen are two different feelings.

I majored in the liberal arts and was lucky to get a great job at a great company. Many of other friends studied social science and got great jobs with other companies in the financial services. However, I have a ton of friends who did engineering and are now making 50% more than what any of us make. What makes me the most envious is that even the people with the crappiest GPA got solid engineering jobs at great companies. It's like...for all intents and purposes, I should have just studied engineering and got a 2.1 GPA and then go on to make 60k+ off the bat. It's just shocking because most of us who weren't in engineering had to work out butts off and practically be the cream of the crop to get the jobs we have now.

Of course I don't let money affect our friendships, but in the back of my mind, I always think about how much less I make than them and it makes me feel a bit...well, inferior and jealous. Argh...I know I need to stop comparing myself to the Joneses but I can't!

Replies

• brokenmachinebrokenmachine Posts: 280Member

IDOL

edited February 2013
    Should of listened to the asian parents lol.